2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar Announced!


2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar, Madison Moseley

The Montgomery County Community Foundation is pleased to announce that Madison Moseley has been named the recipient of a full-tuition, four-year scholarship as the 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

Madison will receive full-tuition to any accredited public or private nonprofit college or university in Indiana. In addition, a $900 stipend for required books and equipment will be made available to her each year. She is the daughter of Jeff and Jennifer Moseley and a senior at North Montgomery High School.

Madison (center) with Jessica Bokhart, Kelly Taylor, Sarah Storms, and Joyce Grimble

After being notified, Madison shared, “There are not enough words to describe how truly grateful I am for the opportunity to be named the 2020 Montgomery County Lilly Scholar. This is an honor that I will hold near to my heart for a lifetime. I would like to thank my encouraging teachers, coaches, and counselors for all of their academic and personal guidance over the years. In addition, receiving this award would not have been possible without my loving family, friends, and all of those in Montgomery County who have supported me every step of the way. I would also like to thank the Montgomery County Community Foundation for its generosity in gifting me this honor. This scholarship will enable to me to pursue a career as a pediatric physician assistant. While I am currently undecided on my university of choice, I will be studying chemistry on a pre-professional track. I look forward to someday giving back to this wonderful community as a thank you for all that it has done for me.”

Madison has been involved in a number of organizations during her time at NMHS and is a member of Sunshine Society, National Honor Society, Student Council, and the NMHS girls’ basketball team. As a junior, she was instrumental in creating “20 and Me,” a mentorship program for incoming freshmen.

Last year, Madison was named a Rising Star of Indiana by the Indiana Association of High School Principals and recently received the AP Scholar Award from the College Board. She has spent time volunteering as a basketball coach for young athletes and is very active with her youth group at St. Bernard’s Catholic Church. For the past year, Madison has worked at Walgreens and is currently in training to become a pharmacy technician.

Madison with her parents, Jeff and Jennifer Moseley

To be considered for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship, students must be a resident of Montgomery County, have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.85 on a 4.00 scale, and be in the top 10% of their graduating class at an accredited Montgomery County high school. As one of 25 local applicants for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship, Madison participated in a highly selective review process that evaluated each student’s application.

Madison (center) with NMHS staff: Jill Hunt, Michael Cox, Brooke VanScoyoc, and Jon Guthrie

The criteria used to select scholarship finalists are based on academic achievement, student activities and leadership, and two essay responses. Finalists are required to appear before the Board of Directors of the Montgomery County Community Foundation for two interviews. Concluding the process, the scholarship committee narrowed the field of applicants to one nominee and two alternates. These finalists’ names and applications were submitted to the Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for final selection.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

Since 1998, the program has provided over $405 million in scholarship tuition to 4,769 recipients.